Turkey and Papas

On my journey to find local food, I found myself at the Burlingame farmers market. For those of you who don’t know where Burlingame is, it’s about 25 minutes(without traffic) south of San Francisco on freeway 101. I arrived without any idea about what I was going to get for my ESF dish. Luckily I found a table that was selling baby red potatoes and fresh garlic from San Juan Bautista, which is about 20 minutes south of Gilroy. I decided to buy 2 cloves of garlic, and about 1 ½ Ibs of the potatoes.

P5091247P5091249

 

I decided that I would make a dish with some type of meat accompanied by baked garlic potatoes, so I headed to the Golden Gate Meat Company, located at the Ferry building in San Francisco.

P5121258P5121261

P5121262

I wanted to find something that would still taste good after making the hour long trip from my house in Burlingame to my ESF class at USF. I went with turkey.  The particular turkey that I bought was a little under 3 Ibs. It was from the Diestel Family Turkey Ranch, which is about 2.5 hours east of San Francisco in a small town called Sonora. They’re turkeys are all natural– free from hormones and growth stimulants. They are fed a 100% vegetarian natural diet of corn and soybeans that are milled on their ranch.

So the following day at 2:45 pm on Wednesday May 13th, I was ready to begin prepping my turkey and potato dish. I turned the oven to 350 degrees to preheat, and started with the potatoes. I rinsed them thoroughly and cut them into quarters.

P5131265P5131267

P5131271P5131272

P5131268

I based my potato dish off a recipe at this site: recipezaar.com. I didn’t completely follow their directions, but for the most part I did what they told me. Unfortunately the salt, pepper, olive oil, basil and butter that I used were not local ingredients. I simply already had them in my kitchen while I was prepping, and I just sort of used them without even thinking about what I was doing, like I often do when I cook–Zoned out, or in the zone, either or.  I mixed everything together, and then started on the the turkey.

P5131284

P5131285P5131286

Prepping the turkey was extremely easy. All I did was cut the strings that were holding the turkey together, rinse the turkey and then rub the turkey with a special dry rub that Golden Gate Meat Company had suggested I use. It consisted of onion, garlic, sea salt, pepper and rosemary. Unfortunately I was unable to find out whether these ingredients were local. They told me that they buy them in bulk from several different wholesale suppliers.

P5131290

At this moment I had forgotten to put aluminum foil over the turkey. Luckily I caught my mistake in time!

The oven was preheated and the time was right. I placed both the turkey and the potato dish in the oven and set the timer for ten minutes. After ten minutes I opened the oven, took out the potatoes, stirred them around a little bit, put aluminum over them and put them back in the oven. I reset the timer for 1 hour. The potato recipe said they would take about an hour to cook, but after taking them out for the third time to stir the potatoes I tasted one and it was done. I think that since my potatoes were smaller it took a shorter amount of time for them to cook—about 45 minutes in total. As for the turkey, it took a little longer. Originally I planned on cooking the turkey for about an hour because on several websites people say to cook the turkey 20 minutes for every Ib and since my turkey was a little under three Ibs I thought an hour would do the trick. Luckily I had my trusty meat thermometer placed in the turkey, and it didn’t reach the 170 degree mark until after about one hour and fifteen minutes.

P5131291

Success! I covered my dish with aluminum foil and headed to USF for a wonderful last ESF feast!

P5131292

 

~ by Joel Weston on May 15, 2009.

4 Responses to “Turkey and Papas”

  1. joel! i love this! your meal was delicious!

  2. that turkey was delicious. i might hire you to cater thanksgiving sometime, haha.

  3. Great pictures! So very detailed, including the smashing of the garlic. The turkey was amazing. I really need to start cooking meat more. My poor meat thermometer sits in the drawer feeling useless. You gave our last meal some serious substance.

  4. Great post! Don’t tell my parents, but this was seriously the best turkey I’ve ever had…way better than any Thanksgiving turkey. Sooo succulent. Now that I know that turkey season ends in early summer, I’m probably going to eat Tofurkey for the rest of my Thanksgivings. I’m going to try to recreate this entire meal soon though, thanks so much for making it!

Leave a comment